The original property was built in 1913 in Tel Aviv’s first neighborhood.
Originally called The Gurevitch House, The Levee was first built in 1913 on a plot in Tel Aviv’s area of Ahuzat Bait, part of a collection that now reflects the initial settlement of Tel Aviv. The property was marked for preservation in the Lev Ha’ir program in the buffer zone of the White City declared by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site in 2003.
Under the strict guidelines of the Tel Aviv organization of architectural preservation, Bar Orian Architects spent nine years meticulously restoring the original building to its exact intention. Whilst preserving the original structure, the architects added an additional two floors, including the steel-encased, top-floor penthouse, creating a unique contrast between old and new.
The renovation and restoration of this residential building, showcases the story of urban renewal and the architectural evolution of Tel Aviv, successfully merging the original Eclectic style and Bauhaus architecture, with ultra-modern and cutting-edge techniques.
With so many preservation guidelines in place, Bar Orian Architects had to develop new tactics in order to maintain as many original features as possible. The original, Eclectic architecture-style floors exist in contrast to the building’s new construction with dark cladding and advanced technological shutter systems, providing a clear, architectural expression of different eras.